Classic Hits 103.9 WLPO

News from the Illinois Valley

LaSalle County Board to Honor Outgoing Elected Officials at Tuesday’s Meeting

Posted by wlpo on November 28, 2016

Does your workplace do anything special for employees who are ending their tenure at their job? The LaSalle County Board on Tuesday afternoon will be honoring some civil servants who were not re-elected earlier this month.

Two of those officials failed to win their respective campaigns, while one retired. Current LaSalle County States’ Attorney Brian Towne will be honored by the board for his 16 years serving in that office.

They also plan to honor LaSalle County Circuit Clerk Jim Olson. Olson’s tenure was decidedly shorter, having been appointed less than a year ago to replace State Representative Andy Skoog. Skoog vacated the office when he was tapped to fill the office vacated by Auditor General Frank Mautino.

Also among the honorees is Recorder of Deeds Tom Lyons. He’d held that office for nearly two decades, before deciding not to seek re-election this year. Republican Karen Friestad Miller was elected to take over for Lyons.

The newly elected officials will officially be taking office on Thursday.


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

%d bloggers like this: