Classic Hits 103.9 WLPO

News from the Illinois Valley

Governor Rauner Adds 11 Counties to Flooding Disaster Declaration

Posted by wlpo on January 5, 2016

Nearly one-quarter of Illinois’ counties are now under the state disaster declaration issued by Governor Bruce Rauner as a result of the widespread flooding.

Tuesday morning, Governor Rauner added 11 more counties to the proclamation which makes a variety of state resources available to help communities respond to and recover from flooding. Those resources include sandbags, pumps, trucks, and other things that can help ensure public safety.

The Director of the Illinois Emergency Management Agency says it could still be a few weeks before the total impact of the flooding is known, because some counties are still dealing with high water.

The total number of counties covered by the declaration is currently 23. For more information on the current situation visit the Ready Illinois website at

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

%d bloggers like this: