Classic Hits 103.9 WLPO

News from the Illinois Valley

Area Pensions Come Under Fire

Posted by wlpo on January 26, 2011

La Salle County-area retired government employees receive lavish, gold-plated pensions according to taxpayer watchdog Jim Tobin.

Tobin is Chairman of the Illinois Taxpayer Education Foundation.  He was in Ottawa Tuesday calling for pension reform and saying “the real reason Springfield politicians passed the income tax increase is to pump more money into floundering pension plans, including those from La Salle County.”

Tobin released pension amounts for retired public school staff, IVCC employees and government workers.  Getting the highest year pension of area retired public school employees is James Bagley of Peru Elementary at 122 thousand dollars followed by Charles Hager of Streator High School at 86 thousand dollars.

At IVCC, Alfred Wisgoski receives an annual pension of 122 thousand dollars.  Next highest paid is Robert Marshall who pulls in 92 thousand dollars a year.

When it comes to retired La Salle County employees, Steven Schoeph gets an annual pension of 60 thousand dollars a year followed by Anthony Condie with a 58 thousand dollar pension.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

%d bloggers like this: